We care about football

UEFA President's Award

UEFA President's Award
Raymond Kopa (left) receives the UEFA President's Award from Michel Platini in Reims ©AFP


Published: Thursday 2 January 2014, 12.23CET

Each year, a football personality is honoured by UEFA in receiving the UEFA President's Award.

The UEFA President's Award recognises outstanding achievements, professional excellence and exemplary personal qualities. The accolade, first introduced by UEFA in 1998, focuses particularly on the true protagonists – the players – who have advanced the game's development and success.

In recent years, a select group of football luminaries – European Footballers of the Year – have received the UEFA President's Award: Alfredo Di Stéfano (2007), Sir Bobby Charlton (2008), Eusébio (2009), Raymond Kopa (2010), Gianni Rivera (2011), Franz Beckenbauer (2012), Johan Cruyff (2013) and Josef Masopust (2014).

Winners of the UEFA President's Award:
1998: Jacques Delors (European Commission, France)
1999: ----
2000: Guy Roux (France)
2001: Juan Santisteban (Spain)
2002: Sir Bobby Robson (England)
2003: Paolo Maldini (Italy)
2004: Ernie Walker (Scotland)
2005: Frank Rijkaard (Netherlands)
2006: Wilfried Straub (Germany)
2007: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Spain)
2008: Sir Bobby Charlton (England)
2009: Eusébio (Portugal)
2010: Raymond Kopa (France)
2011: Gianni Rivera (Italy)
2012: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)
2013: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
2014: Josef Masopust (Czech Republic)

Last updated: 13/02/17 19.21CET