Union des Associations Européennes de Football

Initial shortlist announced for 2012/13 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award

040 - Inaugural Best Women’s Player in Europe Award launched

Published: Tuesday 9 July 2013, 14.00CET

UEFA today announced the shortlist of ten players who will now run in the second round of voting for the 2012/13 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award. This season marks the third edition of the award, which was born out of an initiative by UEFA President Michel Platini, in partnership with the European Sports Media (ESM) group. Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona) and Andrés Iniesta (ESP – FC Barcelona) won the first and second editions in 2010/11 and 2011/12 respectively.

The award will be presented in Monaco on Thursday 29 August 2013 during the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League group stage draw. As in previous years, a jury of journalists from each of UEFA’s member associations has provided a list of their five best-ranked players. The players are ordered from one to five, with the first receiving five points, the second four points and so on. Only the ten best-ranked players will advance to a second vote, which will define the short list of the three finalist nominees, who will be named on Tuesday 6 August 2013. The jury will then cast their live votes during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, with the same journalists using an electronic system to determine the outright winner from the three candidates.

The shortlist of 10 players (in alphabetical order) is: Gareth Bale (WAL – Tottenham Hotspur FC); Cristiano Ronaldo (POR – Real Madrid CF); Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE – Paris Saint-Germain); Robert Lewandowski (POL – Borussia Dortmund); Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona); Thomas Müller (GER – FC Bayern München); Franck Ribéry (FRA – FC Bayern München); Arjen Robben (NED – FC Bayern München); Bastian Schweinsteiger (GER – FC Bayern München); Robin van Persie (NED – Manchester United FC).

The complete list of 26 players who received votes in the initial vote (in alphabetical order) can be accessed via the following link: http://uefa.to/11yaQBc

This season, UEFA will also launch the Best Women’s Player in Europe Award. The shortlist of the top ten players will be provided by the coaches of the twelve teams taking part in UEFA Women’s EURO 2013, as well as the eight coaches of the clubs which participated in last season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League quarter-finals.

The voting jury for this award will be composed of 18 journalists, each committed to supporting women’s football, and selected by ESM. The award will be presented to the winner during the 2013/14 UEFA Women's Champions League Round of 32 and 16 draws, which will take place on 5 September 2013 at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland.

For further information

UEFA Media & Public Relations:+41 848 04 27 27

  • Route de Genève 46
  • CH-1260 Nyon 2
  • Tel. +41 848 04 27 27
  • media@uefa.ch
  • Twitter @UEFA
  • UEFA.com


Media releases

Press kits

Official media packs written for every game in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League provide detailed and up-to-the-minute information ahead of the latest matches from Europe's leading club competitions.
  • © 1998-2016 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.