Litauen

LitauenLitauischer Fußballverband

We care about football

Litauens holpriger Weg

Die Geschichte des litauischen Fußballs steht in engem Zusammenhang mit politischen Ereignissen.
Litauens holpriger Weg
Deivydas Matulevičius (Lithuania) ©Vaidotas Januška

Litauens holpriger Weg

Die Geschichte des litauischen Fußballs steht in engem Zusammenhang mit politischen Ereignissen.

Die Geschichte des litauischen Fußballs begann Anfang des letzten Jahrhunderts und steht im engen Zusammenhang mit dem politischen Schicksal des Landes. Litauen wurde 1918 unabhängig, 1940 von der UdSSR annektiert und 1990 abermals unabhängig.

Das erste dokumentierte Spiel wurde 1911 zwischen zwei Mannschaften aus Kaunas und Vilnius in Kaunas ausgetragen. 1923 wurde die Litauische Sportliga in die FIFA aufgenommen. Im gleichen Jahr bestritt Litauen das erste Länderspiel als unabhängiger Staat: Es gab eine 0:5-Niederlage in Kaunas gegen Estland. Ein Jahr später wurde die neue Litauische Fußball-Liga (LFL) gegründet, und die Nationalmannschaft nahm an den Olympischen Spielen in Paris teil. Die LFL wurde 1925 zum einzigen Repräsentanten des litauischen Fußballs und organisierte 1931 die erste nationale Meisterschaft mit sieben teilnehmenden Mannschaften.

Ab 1946 nahmen litauische Vereine an den Wettbewerben der UdSSR teil. FK Žalgiris Vilnius gewann 1982 die zweite Liga und stieg damit in die erste Liga der UdSSR auf, wo sie 1987 Dritter wurden. Damit qualifizierten sie sich zwar für den UEFA-Pokal, dort verloren sie aber in der ersten Runde gegen den FK Austria Wien. Zwei Jahre später qualifizierten sie sich erneut und schafften mit einem Erfolg über IFK Göteborg den Einzug in die zweite Runde. Einer der erfolgreichsten Spieler aus dieser Zeit ist Viatcheslavas Sukristovas, der mit der Nationalmannschaft der UdSSR bei der UEFA-Europameisterschaft 1988 Zweiter wurde. Zwei andere Spieler - Arminas Nabekovas und Arvydas Janonis - verhalfen der UdSSR 1988 zur Goldmedaille bei den Olympischen Spielen in Seoul.

Litauen wurde am 11. März 1990 wieder unabhängig. Als Folge eines Antrags des Litauischen Sportverbandes konnten sich Vereine wie Žalgiris, FK Atlantas und ASSM Inkaras aus den Wettbewerben der UdSSR zurückziehen. Die litauische Meisterschaft begann 1991, ein Jahr zuvor wurde bereits die baltische Fußballmeisterschaft ins Leben gerufen. Daran nahmen Litauen, Lettland, Estland und die Enklave Kaliningrad (UdSSR) teil.

Die Nationalmannschaft des erneut unabhängigen Litauens bestritt ihr Debüt am 27. Mai 1990. In Tbilisi kamen sie jedoch nicht über ein 2:2 gegen Georgien hinaus. Zwar dauerte die internationale Isolation fast ein Jahr, wurde aber beendet, als der Litauische Fußballverband (LFF) am 9. Dezember 1991 wieder der FIFA beitreten durfte. Die litauische Mannschaft unter Algimantas Liubinskas nahm an der Qualifikation zur FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft 1994 teil und holte dort am 28. April 1992 beim 2:2-Unentschieden gegen Nordirland in Belfast den ersten Punkt. Der erste Sieg folgte am 12. August 1992, als sie Lettland in Riga bezwangen. Einige Spieler der Nationalelf, wie Arvydas Janonis, Arminas Narbekovas und Valdas Ivanauskas, setzten ihre Karriere in der österreichischen Bundesliga fort.

Der LFF wurde 1992 beim UEFA-Kongress in Göteborg zu einem vollwertigen Mitglied der europäischen Fußballfamilie. Seitdem gibt sich das Land große Mühe, seine fußballerische Infrastruktur zu erweitern. Ziel ist, die Leistungen auf internationaler Bühne, sowohl durch Vereine als auch durch die Nationalmannschaft, zu verbessern.

Langfristig hat man sich die Teilnahme an einem großen Turnier zum Ziel gesetzt. 2013 konnte der LFF wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln in der Organisation einer Endrunde, als man Gastgeber der UEFA-U19-Europameisterschaft war. Auch der Frauenfußball machte signifikante Fortschritte, so konnte sich Gintra Universitetas als erster Verein des Landes überhaupt unter die kontinentale Elite mischen und für das Achtelfinale der UEFA Women's Champions League 2014/15 qualifizieren.

http://de.uefa.com/member-associations/association=ltu/news/newsid=947539.html#litauens+holpriger+weg

Direkt nach oben  

Präsident

 

Edvinas Eimontas

Edvinas Eimontas

Nationalität: Litauer
Geboren: 13. April 1976
Präsident seit: 2016

• Edvinas Eimontas ist ein Finanzspezialist, der seit Ende 2001 für den Litauischen Fußballverband (LFF) arbeitete, zunächst als Leiter der Projektabteilung. Zuvor war er im Bankenwesen tätig.

• Eimontas kümmerte sich um unzählige Projekte, unter anderem um die Einführung eines Klublizenzierungssystems und die Entwicklung von Infrastrukturen, Marketing und vieles mehr. Innerhalb von zehn Jahren stieg die Teilnehmerzahl am Breitenfußball in Litauen um das Zehnfache an.

• 2012 wurde Eimontas zum LFF-Generalsekretär ernannt und leitete die erfolgreiche Organisation des ersten UEFA-Turniers in Litauen - der Endrunde der UEFA-U19-Europameisterschaft im Jahr 2013. Im Januar 2016 wurde er zum LFF-Präsidenten gewählt.

Generalsekretär

 

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nationalität: Litauer
Geboren: 26. Juni 1978
Generalsekretär seit: 2016

• Dunauskas begann seine Fußballkarriere bei Telšiai Mastis, ehe er in Kaunas bei FK Atletas, FK Inkaras und FK Kareda aktiv war. Nach dem Sieg im litauischen Pokal mit FK Atlantas Klaipėda im Jahr 2001 beendete Dunauskas seine Laufbahn und übernahm einen Posten in der Verwaltung des Litauischen Fußballverbands (LFF).

• Zunächst arbeitete er in der Jugendabteilung, ab 2003 war Dunauskas dann Leiter der LFF-Wettbewerbsabteilung. Von 2008 bis 2012 war er zudem Mitglied des Exekutivkomitees.

• Daneben war Dunauskas auch ein prominenter Schiedsrichter. Er begann damit im Jahr 2005. Über fünf Jahre wurde er als FIFA-Schiedsrichter geführt, in dieser Zeit leitete er 48 internationale Spiele. 2015 legte er die Pfeife zur Seite.

Verbands-Infos

  • Gegründet: 1922
  • UEFA-Mitglied: 1992
  • FIFA-Mitglied: 1923
  • Adresse: Stadiono g. 2 02106 Vilnius
  • Telefon: +370 5263 8741
  • Fax: +370 5263 8740

Verbands-Koeff.

LandVereinePkt.
46LuxemburgLuxemburg0/44.875
47NordirlandNordirland0/44.500
48LitauenLitauen0/44.125
49MaltaMalta0/44.000
50WalesWales0/43.875
Letzte Aktualisierung: 07/12/2016 08:39 MEZ

Titel von Nationalteams

Keine Titel

Nationale Wettbewerbe

Erste litauische Liga 2017

VereineSPkt.
1FK Žalgiris Vilnius718
2FK Atlantas714
3FK Sūduva712
4FK Trakai710
5FK Utenis78
6FK Lietava76
7FC Stumbras75
8FK Kauno Žalgiris72
Letzte Aktualisierung: 20/04/2017 22:10 MEZ

Lithuania

LithuaniaLithuanian Football Federation

We care about football

Lithuania go it alone

The history of football in Lithuania has been strongly conditioned by political events.
Lithuania go it alone
Deivydas Matulevičius celebrates scoring for Lithuania in the European Qualifiers ©Vaidotas Januška

Lithuania go it alone

The history of football in Lithuania has been strongly conditioned by political events.

The history of football in Lithuania, which begins at the turn of the last century, has been strongly conditioned by political events. The country became independent in 1918, was annexed by the USSR in 1940, before regaining independence in 1990.

The first recorded match took place in 1911 in Kaunas between teams representing the cities of Kaunas and Vilnius. In 1923 the Lithuanian Sports League was admitted to FIFA. In the same year Lithuania played their first international as an independent state, also in Kaunas, losing 5-0 to Estonia. This early flurry of activity came to a climax in 1924 when the Lithuanian Football League (LFL) was founded and the national team participated in the Paris Olympics. The LFL became the sole supervisor of Lithuanian football in 1925, organising the first national championship, which featured seven teams, in 1931.

From 1946 Lithuanian clubs competed within the USSR's footballing pyramid. In 1982 FK Žalgiris Vilnius won the first division title to gain promotion to the Supreme Soviet League, where they finished third in 1987. They duly qualified for the 1988/89 UEFA Cup, where they were eliminated in the first round by FK Austria Wien. They qualified again the next season and took the scalp of IFK Göteborg before bowing out in the second round. One standout talent from this era was Viačeslavas Sukristovas, who figured in the USSR team that finished as runners-up at the 1988 UEFA European Championship. Two other players, Arminas Nabekovas and Arvydas Janonis, helped the USSR claim Olympic gold in Seoul in 1988.

When Lithuania re-established its independence on 11 March 1990, it was the cue for clubs such as Žalgiris, FK Atlantas and ASSM Inkaras to withdraw from the Soviet setup following a request by the Lithuanian sports authorities. A Lithuanian championship promptly started in 1991. A Baltic Football Championship was also launched in 1990, involving sides from Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and the Kaliningrad enclave of the USSR.

The national team of the newly independent Lithuania made their debut in a 2-2 draw with Georgia in Tbilisi on 27 May 1990. A bold line was then drawn under the country's international isolation as the Lithuanian Football Federation (Lietuvos Futbolo Federacija or LFF) was readmitted to FIFA on 9 December 1991. As a result, the national side, under Algimantas Liubinskas, played in 1994 FIFA World Cup qualifying, picking up their first points with a 2-2 draw with Northern Ireland in Belfast on 28 April 1992. The first victory came against Latvia in Riga on 12 August 1992. Players such as Janonis, Narbekovas and Valdas Ivanauskas went west to ply their trade in the Austrian Bundesliga.

The LFF became a fully fledged member of the European football family at the 1992 UEFA Congress in Gothenburg. Since then, it has worked hard to develop the country's soccer infrastructure with the aim of improving performances at club and national-team levels.

While getting to the final round of a major championship remains a long-term target, the LFF gained valuable experience and recognition by succesfully staging the the UEFA European Under-19 Championship finals in 2013. Progress in the women's game was also apparent when Gintra Universitetas became the first club side – of any gender – to join the continental elite by qualifying for the UEFA Women's Champions League round of 16 in 2014/15.

http://www.uefa.com/member-associations/association=ltu/news/newsid=945409.html#lithuania+alone

Skip to top  

President

 

Edvinas Eimontas

Edvinas Eimontas

Nationality: Lithuanian
Date of birth: 13 April 1976
Association president since: 2016

• A finance specialist by trade, Edvinas Eimontas has worked at the Lithuanian Football Federation (LFF) since the end of 2001, after moving from the banking industry to work as the head of the LFF projects department.

• Eimontas completed numerous projects, including the implementation of the club licensing system and development of infrastructures, marketing and others, while the number of grassroots football participants in Lithuania increased tenfold over the ten-year period.

• In 2012, Eimontas was appointed LFF general secretary, and oversaw the successful organisation of Lithuania’s first UEFA final tournament – the UEFA European Under-19 Championship final round in 2013. He was elected as LFF president in January 2016.

General secretary

 

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nationality: Lithuanian
Date of birth: 26 June 1978
Association general secretary since: 2016

• Started his footballing career with local club Telšiai Mastis, before spells in Kaunas with FK Atletas, FK Inkaras and FK Kareda. After winning the Lithuanian Cup with FK Atlantas Klaipėda in 2001, Dunauskas cut short his playing career to take on an administrative job in the Lithuanian Football Federation (LFF).

• After starting out in the youth department, Dunauskas worked as head of the LFF‘s competitions department from 2003, and was also a member of the executive committee for one term from 2008 to 2012.

• In addition, Dunauskas was a prominent football referee. Having started out in 2005, he refereed 48 international matches over five years as a FIFA listed official, before hanging up his whistle in 2015.

Association info

  • Founded: 1922
  • UEFA affiliation: 1992
  • FIFA affiliation: 1923
  • Address: Stadiono g. 2 02106 Vilnius
  • Telephone: +370 5263 8741
  • Fax: +370 5263 8740

Association club coefficients

CountryClubsPts
43LuxembourgLuxembourg0/45.250
44MontenegroMontenegro0/44.875
45LithuaniaLithuania0/44.625
46Northern IrelandNorthern Ireland0/44.500
47EstoniaEstonia0/44.250
Last updated: 01/06/2016 14:16 CET

Honours by National Teams

No titles won

Domestic competitions

Lithuanian First Division 2016

ClubsPPts
1FK Trakai1636
2FK Žalgiris Vilnius1635
3FK Atlantas1632
4FK Sūduva1628
5FC Stumbras1615
6FK Lietava1614
7FK Utenis1612
8FK Spyris168
Last updated: 24/06/2016 22:05 CET
  • © 1998-2016 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.