Lituanie

LituanieFédération lituanienne de football

We care about football

La Lituanie suit son chemin

En Lituanie, l'histoire du football a été fortement influencée par les évènements politiques.
La Lituanie suit son chemin
Deivydas Matulevičius (Lithuania) ©Vaidotas Januška

La Lituanie suit son chemin

En Lituanie, l'histoire du football a été fortement influencée par les évènements politiques.

L'histoire du football lituanien a commencé au début du siècle dernier et a été fortement influencée par les évènements politiques. Le pays est devenu indépendant en 1918, a été annexé par l'URSS en 1940 pour finalement regagner son indépendance en 1990.

Le premier match enregistré a été disputé en 1911 à Kaunas entre deux équipes représentant les villes de Kaunas et Vilnius. En 1923, la Ligue des sports de Lituanie est admise à la FIFA. Cette même année, la Lituanie dispute son premier match en tant que nation indépendante, également à Kaunas, et perd 5-0 face à l'Estonie. En 1924, la nouvelle Fédération de football de Lituanie (FFL) est créée et l'équipe nationale participe aux Jeux Olympiques de Paris. La FFL devient l'unique représentante du football lituanien en 1925 et organise le premier championnat national, avec sept équipes, en 1931.

À partir de 1946, les équipes lituaniennes prennent part aux compétitions soviétiques. En 1982, le FK Žalgiris Vilnius remporte le championnat de première division d'URSS et obtient une place dans le championnat majeur, où le club termine troisième en 1987. L'équipe se qualifie ensuite pour la Coupe UEFA mais elle est éliminée au premier tour par le FK Austria Wien. En 1989, le club se qualifie à nouveau et atteint cette fois le deuxième tour. A l'époque, l'un des grands joueurs était Viatcheslavas Sukristovas. Il a fait partie de l'équipe d'URSS qui a terminé deuxième du championnat d'Europe de l'UEFA 1988. Deux autres joueurs, Arminas Nabekovas et Arvydas Janonis, ont aidé l'URSS à décrocher la médaille d'or à Séoul en 1988.

La Lituanie retrouve son indépendance le 11 mars 1990. A la demande des autorités sportives du pays, des clubs tels que le Žalgiris, le FK Atlantas et l'ASSM Inkaras se retirent des compétitions soviétiques. Le championnat lituanien débute en 1991 et le Championnat de football de la Baltique est organisé en 1990. Des équipes de Lituanie, de Lettonie, d'Estonie et d'URSS (enclave de Kaliningrad) participent à ce tournoi.

L'équipe nationale de Lituanie, qui vient de retrouver son indépendance, fait ses débuts contre la Géorgie lors d'un match nul 2-2 à Tbilissi, le 27 mai 1990. L'isolement du pays sur la scène internationale, qui a duré presque un an, prend fin lorsque la Fédération de football de Lituanie (FFL) est réadmise à la FIFA, le 9 décembre 1991. L'équipe nationale, dirigée par Algimantas Liubinskas, dispute le tournoi de qualification de la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 1994 et remporte son premier point à la suite d'un match nul 2-2 contre l'Irlande du Nord, le 28 avril 1992 à Belfast. Elle enregistre sa première victoire contre la Lettonie à Riga, le 12 août 1992. Certains joueurs de l'équipe nationale comme Arvydas Janonis, Arminas Narbekovas et Valdas Ivanauskas ont ensuite poursuivi leur carrière à l'Austria Vienne.

La FFL devient un membre à part entière de la famille du football européen en 1992, lors du Congrès de l'UEFA à Göteborg. Depuis, le pays travaille d'arrache pied pour développer ses infrastructures afin d'améliorer ses performances en club mais aussi au niveau de l'équipe nationale.

Tandis qu'une qualification pour la phase finale d'un championnat majeur reste un objectif à long terme, la LFF a gagné une expérience et une reconnaissance précieuses en organisant la phase finale du Championnat d'Europe des moins de 19 ans de l'UEFA 2013. La progression du football féminin a également été démontrée lorsque le Gintra Universitetas est devenu la première équipe de club, masculine ou féminine, à rejoindre l'élite continentale en se qualifiant pour les 8es de finale de l'UEFA Women's Champions League en 2014/15.

http://fr.uefa.com/member-associations/association=ltu/news/newsid=948183.html#la+lituanie+suit+chemin

Revenir en haut  

Président

 

Edvinas Eimontas

Edvinas Eimontas

Nationalité :  lituanienne
Date de naissance : 13 avril 1976
Président de l'association depuis : 2016

• Spécialiste de la finance de métier, Edvinas Eimontas travaille à la Fédération lituanienne de football (LFF) depuis fin 2001, quittant l'industrie bancaire pour travailler comme responsable du service des projets de la LFF.

• Eimontas contribue à différents projets, donc la mise en œuvre du système de licences des clubs et le développement des infrastructures, du marketing et autres, tandis que le nombre de participants au football de basse en Lituanie est multiplié par dix en dix ans.

• En 2012, Eimontas est nommé secrétaire général de la LFF et supervise l'organisation de la première phase finale UEFA en Lituanie lors du Championnat d'Europe des moins de 19 ans de l'UEFA 2013. Il est élu président de la LFF en janvier 2016.

Secrétaire général

 

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nationalité : lituanienne
Date de naissance : 26 Juin 1978
Secrétaire général depuis : 2016

• A débuté sa carrière de footballeur avec club local Telšiai Mastis, avant de rejoindre Kaunas avec les FK Atletas, FK Inkaras et FK Kareda. Après avoir remporté la Coupe de Lituanie avec le FK Atlantas Klaipeda en 2001, Dunauskas écourté sa carrière de joueur pour prendre un emploi administratif à la Fédération de football de Lituanie (LFF).

• Après avoir débuté dans le département de la jeunesse, Dunauskas a travaillé en tant que chef du département des compétitions de la LFF à partir de 2003, et a également été membre du Comité exécutif (2008-2012).

• En outre, Dunauskas a été un arbitre de football de premier plan. Ayant débuté en 2005, il a arbitré 48 matches internationaux sur cinq ans et figurait sur la liste FIFA, avant de raccrocher son sifflet en 2015.

Infos sur l'association

  • Fondé: 1922
  • Affiliation à l'UEFA: 1992
  • Affiliation à la FIFA: 1923
  • Adresse: Stadiono g. 2 02106 Vilnius
  • Téléphone: +370 5263 8741
  • Fax: +370 5263 8740

Coefficient des associations

PaysClubspts
46LuxembourgLuxembourg0/44.875
47Irlande du NordIrlande du Nord0/44.500
48LituanieLituanie0/44.125
49MalteMalte0/44.000
50Pays de GallesPays de Galles0/43.875
Mis à jour le: 07/12/2016 08:39 HEC

Palmarès des équipes nationales

Aucun trophée

Compétitions nationales

Première Division lituanienne 2017

ClubsJpts
1FK Žalgiris Vilnius1332
2FK Sūduva1326
3FK Trakai1321
4FK Atlantas1319
5FK Lietava1315
6FK Utenis1315
7FC Stumbras1311
8FK Kauno Žalgiris132
Mis à jour le: 24/05/2017 21:25 HEC

Lithuania

LithuaniaLithuanian Football Federation

We care about football

Lithuania go it alone

The history of football in Lithuania has been strongly conditioned by political events.
Lithuania go it alone
Deivydas Matulevičius celebrates scoring for Lithuania in the European Qualifiers ©Vaidotas Januška

Lithuania go it alone

The history of football in Lithuania has been strongly conditioned by political events.

The history of football in Lithuania, which begins at the turn of the last century, has been strongly conditioned by political events. The country became independent in 1918, was annexed by the USSR in 1940, before regaining independence in 1990.

The first recorded match took place in 1911 in Kaunas between teams representing the cities of Kaunas and Vilnius. In 1923 the Lithuanian Sports League was admitted to FIFA. In the same year Lithuania played their first international as an independent state, also in Kaunas, losing 5-0 to Estonia. This early flurry of activity came to a climax in 1924 when the Lithuanian Football League (LFL) was founded and the national team participated in the Paris Olympics. The LFL became the sole supervisor of Lithuanian football in 1925, organising the first national championship, which featured seven teams, in 1931.

From 1946 Lithuanian clubs competed within the USSR's footballing pyramid. In 1982 FK Žalgiris Vilnius won the first division title to gain promotion to the Supreme Soviet League, where they finished third in 1987. They duly qualified for the 1988/89 UEFA Cup, where they were eliminated in the first round by FK Austria Wien. They qualified again the next season and took the scalp of IFK Göteborg before bowing out in the second round. One standout talent from this era was Viačeslavas Sukristovas, who figured in the USSR team that finished as runners-up at the 1988 UEFA European Championship. Two other players, Arminas Nabekovas and Arvydas Janonis, helped the USSR claim Olympic gold in Seoul in 1988.

When Lithuania re-established its independence on 11 March 1990, it was the cue for clubs such as Žalgiris, FK Atlantas and ASSM Inkaras to withdraw from the Soviet setup following a request by the Lithuanian sports authorities. A Lithuanian championship promptly started in 1991. A Baltic Football Championship was also launched in 1990, involving sides from Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and the Kaliningrad enclave of the USSR.

The national team of the newly independent Lithuania made their debut in a 2-2 draw with Georgia in Tbilisi on 27 May 1990. A bold line was then drawn under the country's international isolation as the Lithuanian Football Federation (Lietuvos Futbolo Federacija or LFF) was readmitted to FIFA on 9 December 1991. As a result, the national side, under Algimantas Liubinskas, played in 1994 FIFA World Cup qualifying, picking up their first points with a 2-2 draw with Northern Ireland in Belfast on 28 April 1992. The first victory came against Latvia in Riga on 12 August 1992. Players such as Janonis, Narbekovas and Valdas Ivanauskas went west to ply their trade in the Austrian Bundesliga.

The LFF became a fully fledged member of the European football family at the 1992 UEFA Congress in Gothenburg. Since then, it has worked hard to develop the country's soccer infrastructure with the aim of improving performances at club and national-team levels.

While getting to the final round of a major championship remains a long-term target, the LFF gained valuable experience and recognition by succesfully staging the the UEFA European Under-19 Championship finals in 2013. Progress in the women's game was also apparent when Gintra Universitetas became the first club side – of any gender – to join the continental elite by qualifying for the UEFA Women's Champions League round of 16 in 2014/15.

http://www.uefa.com/member-associations/association=ltu/news/newsid=945409.html#lithuania+alone

Skip to top  

President

 

Edvinas Eimontas

Edvinas Eimontas

Nationality: Lithuanian
Date of birth: 13 April 1976
Association president since: 2016

• A finance specialist by trade, Edvinas Eimontas has worked at the Lithuanian Football Federation (LFF) since the end of 2001, after moving from the banking industry to work as the head of the LFF projects department.

• Eimontas completed numerous projects, including the implementation of the club licensing system and development of infrastructures, marketing and others, while the number of grassroots football participants in Lithuania increased tenfold over the ten-year period.

• In 2012, Eimontas was appointed LFF general secretary, and oversaw the successful organisation of Lithuania’s first UEFA final tournament – the UEFA European Under-19 Championship final round in 2013. He was elected as LFF president in January 2016.

General secretary

 

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nerijus Dunauskas

Nationality: Lithuanian
Date of birth: 26 June 1978
Association general secretary since: 2016

• Started his footballing career with local club Telšiai Mastis, before spells in Kaunas with FK Atletas, FK Inkaras and FK Kareda. After winning the Lithuanian Cup with FK Atlantas Klaipėda in 2001, Dunauskas cut short his playing career to take on an administrative job in the Lithuanian Football Federation (LFF).

• After starting out in the youth department, Dunauskas worked as head of the LFF‘s competitions department from 2003, and was also a member of the executive committee for one term from 2008 to 2012.

• In addition, Dunauskas was a prominent football referee. Having started out in 2005, he refereed 48 international matches over five years as a FIFA listed official, before hanging up his whistle in 2015.

Association info

  • Founded: 1922
  • UEFA affiliation: 1992
  • FIFA affiliation: 1923
  • Address: Stadiono g. 2 02106 Vilnius
  • Telephone: +370 5263 8741
  • Fax: +370 5263 8740

Association club coefficients

CountryClubsPts
43LuxembourgLuxembourg0/45.250
44MontenegroMontenegro0/44.875
45LithuaniaLithuania0/44.625
46Northern IrelandNorthern Ireland0/44.500
47EstoniaEstonia0/44.250
Last updated: 01/06/2016 14:16 CET

Honours by National Teams

No titles won

Domestic competitions

Lithuanian First Division 2016

ClubsPPts
1FK Trakai1636
2FK Žalgiris Vilnius1635
3FK Atlantas1632
4FK Sūduva1628
5FC Stumbras1615
6FK Lietava1614
7FK Utenis1612
8FK Spyris168
Last updated: 24/06/2016 22:05 CET
  • © 1998-2016 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.