Malta

MaltaMaltesischer Fußballverband

We care about football

Fortschritte bei Malta unverkennbar

Der 1900 gegründete Maltesische Fußballverband (MFA) ist einer der ältesten von 204 Verbänden weltweit.
Fortschritte bei Malta unverkennbar
Malta freut sich in der Qualifikation zur UEFA EURO 2016 über einen Treffer gegen Bulgarien ©AFP/Getty Images

Fortschritte bei Malta unverkennbar

Der 1900 gegründete Maltesische Fußballverband (MFA) ist einer der ältesten von 204 Verbänden weltweit.

Der 1900 gegründete Maltesische Fußballverband (MFA) ist einer der ältesten von 204 Verbänden weltweit. Fußball wurde auf den maltesischen Inseln von einigen dort stationierten Briten eingeführt. Zwar fand das erste Spiel schon 1882 statt, doch es dauerte bis 1910, ehe das erste Meisterschaftsspiel organisiert wurde.

In den 1930ern erfolgte ein weiteres historisches Ereignis für den MFA, als der maltesische Pokalwettbewerb eingeführt wurde. Der Englische Fußballverband spendierte die Trophäe als Dank für die von Malta entgegengebrachte Unterstützung im Rahmen des ersten Spiels von England gegen Italien in Rom im Jahr 1933. Viele in Malta sprechen noch immer mit Wehmut über die Zeit vor und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, als stargespickte Mannschaften aus ganz Europa auf die Insel kamen, um dort Turniere auszutragen. Besonders in der Weihnachtszeit fanden im alten Empire-Stadion in Gzira eine Menge hochkarätiger Spiele statt.

In den frühen 1950ern begann der MFA damit, den Jugendfußball zu fördern und die Mannschaften nahmen an Wettbewerben wie dem Viareggio-Turnier in Italien teil. Einen weiteren Meilenstein erreichte man im Februar 1957, als die A-Nationalmannschaft ihr erstes Länderspiel gegen Österreich bestritt. Im ausverkauften Empire-Stadion verlor Malta allerdings mit 2:3.

Malta wurde 1959 ein Mitglied der FIFA und trat 1960 der UEFA bei. Damit begann für den maltesischen Fußball eine neue Ära, da man nun die Möglichkeit hatte, an vielen verschiedenen Wettbewerben teilzunehmen.

Floriana FC, Sliema Wanderers FC, Valletta FC, Hibernians FC und Hamrun Spartans FC gehören zu den erfolgreichsten Mannschaften Maltas. Floriana und Sliema erzielten die ersten Erfolge, aber in letzter Zeit traten Valletta, Hibernians, Hamrun und Birkirkara FC in deren Fußstapfen.

Malta bestritt das erste Pflichtspiel bei der UEFA-Europameisterschaft 1962 gegen Dänemark. Ihr Debüt bei einer FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft gaben sie 1974, als sie zusammen mit Ungarn, Österreich und Schweden in einer Qualifikationsgruppe spielten. Als größte Erfolge des Nationalteams gelten der 2:0-Heimsieg über Griechenland im Qualifikationsspiel für die EM 1976 sowie der 1:0-Erfolg über Estland in der Qualifikation zur WM 1994.

Als das britische Militär die Insel 1979 verließ, profitierte der MFA von der Rückgabe der Fußballfelder, welche die Briten bis dahin genutzt hatten. Daraufhin entstand 1981 das neue Nationalstadion in Ta'Qali.

Mit der Wahl von Dr. Joseph Mifsud, Präsident des MFA, in das UEFA-Exekutivkomitee im Jahr 1994 sowie in das FIFA-Exekutivkomitee 1998 wurden in der Geschichte des Verbands wichtige Meilensteine gelegt. So kam auch die Berufung des maltesischen Schiedsrichters Emanuel Zammit für die FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft 1998 und die UEFA EURO 2000 nicht von ungefähr. Anfang 2008 übernahm Dr. Mifsud den prestigeträchtigen Posten des UEFA-Vizepräsidenten.

Mit professionellen Strukturen für die Nationalmannschaft, steigender Begeisterung für Frauenfußball und Futsal sowie der Gründung eines Jugendverbandes beweist der MFA großes Engagement und Interesse, den Fußball im eigenen Land voran zu bringen. Schiedsrichter und Trainer haben ebenfalls eigene etablierte Organisationen eingerichtet.

Diese Maßnahmen haben einen erheblichen Teil dazu beigetragen, dass der MFA das Vertrauen der UEFA gewinnen konnte. Ungeachtet der Größe und der begrenzten Mittel wurde der MFA in den letzten Jahren damit beauftragt, verschiedene Konferenzen und Seminare zu veranstalten. Darunter war auch der XX. Ordentliche Kongress der UEFA von 1990. Im März 2012 erhielt der MFA von der UEFA den Zuschlag für die Ausrichtung der Endrunde der UEFA-U17-Europameisterschaft 2014, die im Mai 2014 erfolgreich über die Bühne ging.

http://de.uefa.com/member-associations/association=mlt/news/newsid=942208.html#fortschritte+malta+unverkennbar

Direkt nach oben  

Präsident

 

Norman Darmanin Demajo

Norman Darmanin Demajo

Nationalität: Malteser
Geboren: 12. April 1952
Präsident seit: 2010

• Norman Darmanin Demajo ist seit 1968 im Fußball aktiv und hat während seinem neunjährigen Aufenthalt bei Valletta FC (1973-1982) jeweils drei Mal die Meisterschaft und den Pokal gewonnen. 1975/76 lief er für die Nationalmannschaft auf. Nach einem Engagement bei St Andrew's FC beendete er 1990 im Alter von 38 Jahren seine Karriere.

• 1988 wurde er Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat des Maltesischen Fußballverbands (MFA), danach arbeitete er im Exekutivkomitee, ehe er von 1992 bis 2001 als Schatzmeister fungierte.

• Seit August 2010 ist er Präsident des MFA, im Juli 2013 wurde er für weitere drei Jahre wiedergewählt. Demajo bemüht sich, die Fußball-Infrastruktur, den technischen Bereich der Insel und den Breitenfußball zu fördern. Er glaubt, dass man sich ständig in allen Bereichen verbessern muss: "In der heutigen Geschäftswelt bedeutet Stillstand Rückschritt. Das trifft auch im Fußballgeschäft zu, besonders in der Sportwissenschaft. Wenn sich alles so schnell verändert, müssen wir aufpassen, dass wir immer auf dem Laufenden bleiben, damit unsere Mannschaften wettbewerbsfähig bleiben."

Generalsekretär

 

Angelo Chetcuti

Angelo Chetcuti

Nationalität: Malteser
Geboren: 29. Dezember 1980
Generalsekretär seit: 2016

• Angelo Chetcuti wurde im November 2016 zum Generalsekretär des Maltesischen Fußballverbands (MFA) ernannt.

• Er ist von Beruf Jurist, in seinen Untersuchungen befasst er sich mit Sportrecht, Sportmanagement und den Medien. Chetcuti arbeitete zwölf Jahre für Institutionen der Europäischen Union, unter anderem drei Jahre für das Europäische Parlament.

• Chetcuti ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder. Seine Führungsqualitäten sind ideal für die Pläne des MFA, sein langfristiges Entwicklungsprogramm weiter fortzusetzen.

Verbands-Infos

  • Gegründet: 1900
  • UEFA-Mitglied: 1960
  • FIFA-Mitglied: 1959
  • Adresse: Millennium Stand, Floor 2 National Stadium TA'QALI ATD4000 Malta
  • Telefon: +356 21 232 581
  • Fax: +356 21 245 136

Verbands-Koeff.

LandVereinePkt.
47NordirlandNordirland0/44.500
48LitauenLitauen0/44.125
49MaltaMalta0/44.000
50WalesWales0/43.875
51Färöer-InselnFäröer-Inseln0/43.500
Letzte Aktualisierung: 07/12/2016 08:39 MEZ

Titel von Nationalteams

Keine Titel

Nationale Wettbewerbe

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23/04/2017 20:21 MEZ

Malta

MaltaMalta Football Association

We care about football

Malta seek to mirror off-field progress

Founded in 1900, the Malta Football Association is one of the oldest of the 204 such bodies worldwide.
Malta seek to mirror off-field progress
Gilbert Agius and Michael Mifsud celebrate Malta's 2-1 win against Hungary in October 2006 ©Domenic Aquilina

Malta seek to mirror off-field progress

Founded in 1900, the Malta Football Association is one of the oldest of the 204 such bodies worldwide.

Founded in 1900, the Malta Football Association (MFA) is one of the oldest of the 204 such associations worldwide. The game was introduced to the Maltese islands by British servicemen stationed there, and the first match took place in 1882. By 1910 a first league championship had been organised.

Another historic event for the MFA was the introduction of the Maltese Trophy competition in the 1930s. The English Football Association (FA) donated the trophy in gratitude for the Maltese support England received during their first-ever encounter with Italy in Rome in 1933. Many in Malta still speak nostalgically of the pre and post-Second World War days when star-studded European teams would visit the island to play tournaments, particularly at Christmas, at the old Empire stadium in Gzira.

In the early 1950s, the MFA started to promote youth football, and its sides began to take part in competitions abroad such as the Viareggio tournament in Italy. Another landmark was reached in February 1957 when the senior national team played their first international against Austria; in front of a capacity crowd at the Empire stadium, Malta lost 3-2.

Malta became a member of FIFA in 1959 and joined UEFA in 1960. This heralded a new era for Maltese football at national and club levels, providing the opportunity to participate in many different tournaments.

Floriana FC, Sliema Wanderers FC, Valletta FC, Hibernians FC and Hamrun Spartans FC have been the most successful club sides in Malta. Floriana and Sliema took the initial honours, yet more recently Valletta, Hibernians, Hamrun and Birkirkara FC have come to the fore.

Malta's first competitive international was a UEFA European Championship tie against Denmark in 1962. Their FIFA World Cup debut came in a qualifying group for the 1974 edition, alongside Hungary, Austria and Sweden. However, it is a 2-0 home win against Greece in a qualifier for the 1976 UEFA European Championship, and a 1-0 victory in Estonia in a 1994 World Cup qualifier, that stand out as the national team's greatest moments.

Off the pitch, certain events are worthy of note. When the British armed forces left the island in 1979, the MFA benefited from the return of football grounds previously used by the military, and come 1981 a new national stadium at Ta' Qali had been opened.

The election of Dr Joseph Mifsud, president of the MFA, to the UEFA Executive Committee in 1994 and to the FIFA Executive Committee in 1998, were significant milestones in the history of the association, as was the appointment of Malta's Emanuel Zammit to officiate at matches at the 1998 World Cup and UEFA EURO 2000. Early in 2008 Dr Mifsud was also appointed to the prestigious post of UEFA vice-president.

With a professional structure in place for the national team, with women's football and futsal growing in popularity, and with the establishment of a youth football association, the MFA has demonstrated great application and determination to take football forward. Referees and coaches also have their own established parent bodies.

These measures have been key to the MFA gaining the confidence of UEFA. Notwithstanding its small size and limited resources, the MFA has been entrusted with the hosting of various conferences and seminars over the years, including the XX UEFA Ordinary Congress in 1990.

UEFA's HatTrick assistance programme is also aiding the development of football facilities in the country. Since being elected as MFA president in August 2010, Norman Darmanin Demajo has inaugurated new facilities at member clubs, with further projects in the final stages of completion, and others in the pipeline such as the latest renovation of the Ta' Qali National Stadium.

"The MFA has identified that football in our small nation can only progress if direct assistance is afforded at club level in two major areas – continued professional education and assistance for the improvement of facilities," said Mr Darmanin Demajo. "The MFA will continue to work in this direction, encouraged and assisted by the UEFA HatTrick scheme which is an important part of the equation for realising our goals.

"The strength of present and future HatTrick programmes takes on a new dimension when using that financial assistance as collateral for raising additional funds that are needed today, for benefits that will be enjoyed by our clubs for many years. In a fast and changing world, staying the same means falling behind, so we need to keep up to date with developments and practices. We will also be giving continued professional education and good governance top priority."

http://www.uefa.com/member-associations/association=mlt/news/newsid=940046.html#malta+seek+mirror+field+progress

Skip to top  

President

 

Norman Darmanin Demajo

Norman Darmanin Demajo

Nationality: Maltese
Date of birth: 12 April 1952
Association president since: 2010

• Active in football since 1968, Norman Darmanin Demajo won three titles and three Maltese Cups during a nine-year spell at Valletta FC from 1973-82, winning three league titles and three FA Trophies. An amateur international, he represented the senior team from 1975-76; he hung up his boots in 1990 at the age of 38 following a spell with St Andrew's FC.

• A council member of the Malta Football Association (MFA) from 1988, he was brought on to the body's executive committee before serving as treasurer from 1992-2001.

• Elected president of the MFA in August 2010, and re-elected for a new three-year term in July 2013, he is committed to investing in football infrastructure, and strengthening the island's technical sector and grassroots football. A believer in ongoing education at all levels, he said: "In today's business world, staying still means falling behind. This concept is equally applicable to football management, especially in sports science where, in a fast-changing world, we have to seek to stay abreast with current developments and practice in order to ensure that our teams participate with honour in competitive matches at all levels."

Association info

  • Founded: 1900
  • UEFA affiliation: 1960
  • FIFA affiliation: 1959
  • Address: Millennium Stand, Floor 2 National Stadium TA'QALI ATD4000 Malta
  • Telephone: +356 21 222 697
  • Fax: +356 21 245 136

UEFA ranking

CountryClubsPts
43Republic of IrelandRepublic of Ireland0/45.125
44LuxembourgLuxembourg0/44.875
45MaltaMalta0/44.833
46LiechtensteinLiechtenstein0/14.500
47Northern IrelandNorthern Ireland0/43.625
Last updated: 26/05/2014 06:59 CET

Honours by National Teams

No titles won

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.