Suède

SuèdeAssociation suédoise de football

We care about football

Un intérêt croissant pour le football

Depuis la création de l'Association suédoise de football (SvFF) en 1904, ce sport est rapidement devenu le sport n°1 en Suède.
Un intérêt croissant pour le football
Nils Liedholm ouvre le score dans la finale du Mondial 1958, contre le Brésil à Stockholm ©Popperfoto/Getty Images

Un intérêt croissant pour le football

Depuis la création de l'Association suédoise de football (SvFF) en 1904, ce sport est rapidement devenu le sport n°1 en Suède.

Après la fondation de l'Association suédoise de football (SvFF) en 1904, le football est rapidement devenu le sport le plus populaire du pays. Durant les premières décennies d'existence de la fédération, des clubs de football se sont créé un peu partout en Suède. Depuis, la SvFF a pris pour devise "un club dans chaque village". Aujourd'hui, avec exactement de 3 226 clubs pour neuf millions d'habitants, le football répond à cet objectif. Les statistiques montrent également que, parmi les 7-14 ans, un garçon sur deux et une fille sur cinq jouent dans un club.

L'intérêt croissant pour le football est dû principalement au développement des équipes de jeunes et à la popularité des équipes féminines. Le football féminin est apparu en 1970 - 728 joueuses étaient inscrites cette année-là. Elles sont aujourd'hui environ 70 000 âgées de 15 ans et plus, et font du football féminin une force non négligeable dans le sport suédois.

La Suède a disputé son premier match international le 12 juillet 1908, une victoire 11-3 contre la Norvège à Göteborg. Depuis, le pays a connu des hauts et des bas, ce qui n'a rien d'étonnant. Mais, pour un petit pays, la Suède a remporté de nombreux succès, à commencer par une médaille olympique de bronze en 1924. Le pays scandinave a également participé à onze phases finales de Coupe du Monde de la FIFA, ce qui le place parmi les leaders au nombre de participations.

Le football suédois a connu son âge d'or entre 1948 et 1958. En 1948, la Suède a remporté la médaille d'or aux Jeux Olympiques de Londres, puis le bronze en 1950 et 1952 lors du Mondial au Brésil et des Jeux Olympiques d'Helsinki. En 1958, le pays ne s'est pas contenté d'organiser la Coupe du Monde, il s'est également qualifié pour la finale, avant de s'incliner 5-2 face à une sélection brésilienne spectaculaire.

Les années 90 ont elles aussi connu de beaux succès. La Suède a atteint les demi-finales du Championnat d'Europe de l'UEFA 1992 sur ses terres, et a terminé troisième de la Coupe du Monde aux Etats-Unis deux ans plus tard. Sous la houlette du duo de sélectionneurs Tommy Söderberg et Lars Lagerbäck, l'équipe nationale suédoise s'est qualifiée pour cinq phases finales majeures consécutives de 2000 à 2008. À trois reprises, la Suède a passé le cap de la phase de groupes. Mais après la non qualification pour la Coupe du Monde 2010, Lagerbäck a tiré sa révérence après 12 ans sur le banc.

L'équipe nationale féminine a connu elle aussi des succès internationaux. Elle a remporté le titre de championne d'Europe en 1984, a terminé deuxième à trois reprises (1987, 1995 et 2001), troisième en 1989 et fut demi-fnaliste en 2013, année où la Suède accueillit le Championnat d'Europe féminin de l'UEFA. La Suède a également terminé deuxième de la Coupe du Monde féminine de la FIFA 2003 et troisième en 1991 et 2011.

L'une des dates les plus importantes de l'histoire du football suédois est le 19 avril 1990, jour de l'élection de Lennart Johansson, président honoraire de la SvFF, à la présidence de l'UEFA. Depuis lors, M. Johansson a guidé le football européen à travers les méandres d'une période mouvementée. Il a récemment été rejoint par un compatriote, Lars-Christer Olsson, ancien secrétaire général de la SvFF, qui a succédé à Gerhard Aigner au poste de directeur général de l'UEFA.

Ces dernières années, l'un des principaux objectifs de la SvFF a été de développer de meilleurs équipements d'entraînement. Dans un pays où on ne peut jouer au football que d'avril à novembre, les salles de sport ont une importance toute particulière si les clubs et les équipes nationales veulent avoir une chance de participer à des compétitions au plus haut niveau international. L'investissement dans des salles d'entraînement et des terrains artificiels constitue donc une priorité. La Suède espère voir ainsi son football connaître de nouveaux succès.

http://fr.uefa.com/member-associations/association=swe/news/newsid=942940.html#un+interet+croissant+pour+football

Revenir en haut  

Président

 

Karl-Erik Nilsson

Karl-Erik Nilsson

Nationalité : suédoise
Date de naissance : 6 mai 1957

Président depuis : 2012

• Karl-Erik Nilsson a d'abord été enseignant à Kalmar avant d'intégrer la politique. Il a été maire de sa ville, Emmaboda, de 1995 à 2006. Le premier poste de M. Nilsson dans le football a été la direction du club local du BK Lindås. Il a commencé comme arbitre dans les années 1980, et a officié en UEFA Champions League et lors de l'UEFA EURO 2000.

• Nilsson a été élu à la présidence de la SvFF en mars 2012. Avant son élection à la présidence de la SvFF, il a été membre du conseil d'administration, ainsi que président de l'association régionale du Bohuslän. Il a été directeur du tournoi lors du Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA 2009 et a rempli diverses autres missions à l'UEFA, comme observateur d'arbitres ou mentor pour les jeunes directeurs de jeu.

• Nilsson aime jouer du piano et naviguer dans l'archipel de Bohuslän, sur la côte ouest de la Suède. Il met l'accent sur la symbiose qui existe entre le football d'élite et le football de base : "On a besoin d'être bon dans notre football d'élite car cela génère de l'intérêt. Mais l'élite a également besoin du football de base pour développer des talents." Nilsson a été réélu pour un quatrième mandat de président en mars 2015.

Secrétaire général

 

Håkan Sjöstrand

Håkan Sjöstrand

Nationalité : suédoise
Date de naissance : 1er octobre 1966
En poste depuis : 2014

• Håkan Sjöstrand occupait le poste de directeur marketing du groupe ICA avant de rejoindre l'Association suédoise de football (SvFF).

• Il a défendu pendant ses années de joueur les couleurs du Skiljebo SK et du Gefle IF, des équipes de deuxième division suédoise. Avec sa femme, ils entraînent depuis peu l'équipe de leurs filles jumelles, dans la ville de Västerås.

• Le président de la SvFF Karl-Erik Nilsson a qualifié Sjöstrand de "moteur indispensable" après son recrutement comme secrétaire général. Sjöstrand lui-même pousse à développer le côté commercial de la SvFF, un "passionnant défi commercial pour l'une de marques les mieux établies en Suède".

Infos sur l'association

  • Fondé: 1904
  • Affiliation à l'UEFA: 1954
  • Affiliation à la FIFA: 1904
  • Adresse: Evenemangsgatan 31 171 23 Solna
  • Téléphone: +46 8 735 0900
  • Fax: +46 8 735 0901

Coefficient des associations

PaysClubspts
18DanemarkDanemark1/422.250
19BelarusBelarus0/419.875
20SuèdeSuède0/419.725
21PolognePologne1/419.000
22ÉcosseÉcosse1/418.675
Mis à jour le: 07/12/2016 08:39 HEC

Palmarès des équipes nationales

Compétitions nationales

Sweden

SwedenSwedish Football Association

We care about football

Swedish interest surges across the board

After the foundation of the Swedish Football Association (SvFF) in 1904, the game grew quickly to become the country's most popular sport.
Swedish interest surges across the board
Nils Liedholm scores Sweden's opening goal in the 1958 World Cup final against Brazil in Stockholm ©Popperfoto/Getty Images

Swedish interest surges across the board

After the foundation of the Swedish Football Association (SvFF) in 1904, the game grew quickly to become the country's most popular sport.

After the foundation of the Swedish Football Association (SvFF) in 1904, the game grew quickly to become the country's most popular sport. In its first decades clubs were formed all over Sweden, and since then the SvFF motto has been "a club in every village". Today, with more than 3,300 teams in a land of nine million people, football is achieving that aim. Statistics show that every second boy and every fifth girl between the ages of seven and 14 play for a club.

The sport's development at youth level and the popularity of women's football are two reasons for the surge of interest. Women's football was introduced in 1970 when 728 players were registered, and today there are almost 70,000 participants aged 15 and over making the female game a significant force in Swedish sport.

Going back to the early days, Sweden played their first international on 12 July 1908, defeating Norway 11-3 in Gothenburg. Since then there have, not surprisingly, been highs and lows in sporting performance. Yet, for a small nation, the healthy number of highlights began with an Olympic bronze medal in 1924. Sweden have also featured in 11 FIFA World Cup final tournaments, placing them among the all-time leading appearance makers.

The halcyon days of Swedish football came between 1948 and 1958. In 1948 Sweden won gold at the London Olympic Games. Bronze medals followed at both the 1950 World Cup in Brazil and the Helsinki Olympics of 1952. Then, in 1958, Sweden not only hosted the World Cup but also reached the final, losing 5-2 to a spectacular Brazilian team.

The early 1990s also brought success. Sweden got to the semi-finals of the 1992 UEFA European Championship on home soil, before finishing third at the World Cup in the United States two years later. Under the leadership of coaches Tommy Söderberg and Lars Lagerbäck, the national side or Blågult (blue and yellows) would qualify for five straight final tournaments from 2000 to 2008. Sweden made it past the group stage at three of those events, enhancing their achievement. After narrowly missing out on the 2010 World Cup, Lagerbäck stepped down after 12 years on the bench.

The women's team have also gained international honours. They were European champions in 1984, runners-up on three occasions – 1987, 1995 and 2001 – third in 1989 and then semi-finalists in 2013 when acting as UEFA Women's EURO hosts. The female side also came second at the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2003 and third in both 1991 and 2011.

A significant date in Swedish football history is 19 April 1990 when Lennart Johansson – honorary president of the SvFF – was elected UEFA President. Mr Johansson's tenure coincided with a challenging period for European football, with the introduction of the UEFA Champions League being a key legacy of these years. Mr Johansson was, for a time, assisted by compatriot Lars-Christer Olsson, a former SvFF general secretary who succeeded Gerhard Aigner as UEFA chief executive.

Latterly the development of better training facilities has been a key target of the SvFF. In a country where football can only be played between April and November for climatic reasons, indoor facilities are vital if clubs and national teams are to have a chance of competing at the top international level. Therefore investment in indoor training halls and artificial pitches is being made a matter of priority. In this way Sweden hopes to record further football success in the future.

http://www.uefa.com/member-associations/association=swe/news/newsid=942744.html#swedish+interest+surges+across+board

Skip to top  

President

 

Karl-Erik Nilsson

Karl-Erik Nilsson

Nationality: Swedish
Date of Birth: 6 May 1957

Association president since: 2012

• Karl-Erik Nilsson was a teacher in Kalmar schools before going into politics. He served as mayor of his home town, Emmaboda, from 1995 until 2006, when he left active politics. His first post in football administration was at local club Lindås BK. In the 1980s, Nilsson started out as a referee, and went on to officiate in the UEFA Champions League and at UEFA EURO 2000.

• Nilsson was elected SvFF president in March 2012. Before that, he was a member of the SvFF board, as well as president of the Bohuslan regional associaton. He was tournament director at the 2009 UEFA European Under-21 Championship and had several other UEFA assignments, working as a referee observer and mentor for younger officials.

• Nilsson enjoys playing the piano and taking his boat out to the Bohuslan archipelago on Sweden's west coast. He stresses the symbiosis between elite and grassroots football: "We need successful elite football because that is what generates interest. But the elite also needs thriving grassroots all over the country in order for talent to develop." Nilsson was re-elected for a third term as president in March 2014.

General secretary

 

Håkan Sjöstrand

Håkan Sjöstrand

Nationality: Swedish
Date of birth: 1 October 1966
Association general secretary since: 2014

• Håkan Sjöstrand joined the Swedish Football Association (SvFF) from retail group ICA, where he had been marketing director.

• In his playing days, Sjöstrand represented Skiljebo SK and Gefle IF in the second tier of Swedish football. In recent times, he and his wife have coached their twin daughters' team at Skiljebo.

• SvFF president Karl-Erik Nilsson labelled Sjöstrand "the engine that we need" after recruiting the new general secretary. Sjöstrand himself is especially keen on developing SvFF's commercial side, saying: "It is an exciting business challenge with one of the strongest brand names in Sweden."

Association info

  • Founded: 1904
  • UEFA affiliation: 1954
  • FIFA affiliation: 1904
  • Address: Evenemangsgatan 31 171 23 Solna
  • Telephone: +46 8 735 0900
  • Fax: +46 8 735 0901

UEFA ranking

CountryClubsPts
22BelarusBelarus0/418.625
23ScotlandScotland0/416.566
24SwedenSweden0/516.325
25BulgariaBulgaria0/415.625
26NorwayNorway0/514.275
Last updated: 26/05/2014 06:59 CET

Honours by National Teams

Domestic competitions

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.