We care about football

History and procedure

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, given for the first time in 2011, was born of an initiative by Michel Platini to revive the spirit of the old European Footballer of the Year prize.
History and procedure
Cristiano Ronaldo receives the 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award from Michel Platini ©Getty Images
Published: Wednesday 13 August 2014, 9.10CET

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award was created in partnership with European Sports Media. It recognises the best player, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season.

Players were judged on their performances during the 2013/14 campaign – in all competitions and at club and national team level – by a jury of renowned sports journalists representing each of the UEFA member national associations.

First round of voting
Every journalist involved provided a list of their five best-ranking players from one to five, with the first player receiving five points, the second four points and so on. All 35 players who got at least one vote featured on a long list of nominees published on 17 July. The top ten were then shortlisted for another round of voting.

Second round of voting
On 14 August, UEFA.com revealed the three players who gained the most points from a second round of voting. Those shortlisted for the final round, in alphabetical order, were: Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF).

Final round of voting
The final vote took place in Monaco on 28 August during the ceremony for the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, when the same panel of journalists voted live, via an electronic system, to determine Ronaldo as the winner from the shortlist of three.

This was the second year of the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award, with Nadine Kessler succeeding Nadine Angerer as the recipient of the accolade. The trophy was also presented during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw.

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award replaced the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year prize, last claimed in 2010 by FC Internazionale Milano's Diego Milito. That accolade formed part of the UEFA Club Football Awards – which also included honours for best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward and coach – and had been presented in Monaco each August since 1998.

Last updated: 28/08/14 21.22CET
  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.