We care about football

Winner crowned in Monaco

In a live vote at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on 28 August a panel of journalists from across Europe decided the winner of the 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award.
Winner crowned in Monaco
The Grimaldi Forum in Monaco staged the event ©Getty Images
Published: Wednesday 13 August 2014, 20.45CET

• The jury comprised renowned sports journalists representing each of the UEFA national associations.

• Each journalist initally provided a list of their top five players, with the first player receiving five points, the second four points and so on. The top ten overall were then the subject of a second round of voting.

• The three players with the most points from the second round of voting were shortlisted for the final round.

• The three nominees were announced on 14 August. They were, in alphabetical order: Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and Cristiano Ronaldo.

• The deciding vote took place in Monaco on 28 August when the journalists voted live, via an electronic system, to determine Ronaldo as the winner from the shortlist of three.

Last updated: 28/08/14 21.08CET
  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.